Had a few days’ fast trip to Colorado and New York that required much pivoting with meetings/times/minyans etc.. My mincha/maariv in Colorado Springs was at Chabad of Southern Colorado in beautiful Colorado Springs. The shul is actually located not far from the Air Force Academy and the U.S. Olympic Team Training Center, where I spent some summers back in the late 70’s when I was competing and training with fencing. Rabbi Liberow is warm and friendly. You can see the Colorado Rockies from the windows in the shul, quite breathtaking.
Shacharit the next morning was in Denver and I davened at the Hillel Academy of Denver, a modern orthodox day school. Whenever I travel and have the opportunity, I enjoy davening in day schools and yeshivas and mingling with the kids.
Mincha/Maariv in Denver that day was at BMH Congregation, one of the oldest orthodox synagogues in the West, founded in 1897. The pictures and memorabilia throughout the halls were incredible to see.
That evening was challenging, I needed to take a red-eye flight from Denver to NYC for a morning meeting in Manhattan. The flight was to arrive at 5:30 ( if on time ) and my game plan was to then grab a “quick” taxi into Manhattan for my morning minyan. This would be easy as there are countless morning minyans throughout Manhattan. I chose Adereth El, as it was pretty close to my meeting that morning. Adereth El is a historic synagogue serving Manhattan’s Orthodox community since 1857. Founded four years before the Civil War, it is in its original location. Breathtakingly beautiful stained glass windows are featured on both sides of the Aron Kodesh. Its a must stop for any Jewish visitor to NYC.
Mincha/Maariv that evening was at one of my favorite shuls in Manhattan, Manhattan Sephardic Synagogue. Although I’d always prefer davening in an Ashkenaz shul if I have my preference, Manhattan Sephardic Synagogue is a sight not to be believed. The following pictures don’t do it justice, you simply have to stop by for a minyan and enjoy the beauty and elegance of the shul.
http://www.sepharad.org/index.cfm?page=service
